Division History

Division of Health Sciences

Students sitting outside the Sanford Center for Aging

In January 2008, University President Milton Glick announced the expansion of the University's Division of Health Sciences under the leadership of Vice President for Health Sciences John McDonald. With the expansion, the schools in the former College of Health and Human Sciences became part of the Division of Health Sciences. The transition took effect July 1. (Health and Human Sciences was formed in July 2006 from the College of Human and Community Sciences, established in July 1989.)

"The reorganization of the College of Health and Human Sciences is driven by the recognition that optimal health care is provided by multidisciplinary teams—nurses, public health professionals, social workers, pharmacists, therapists, physicians and others—who train and work together focusing on meeting the healthcare needs of the state," Glick said. "This integrative approach will best serve University students seeking health-related careers by leveraging the talents and expertise found in these health science disciplines."

The following units became part of the Division of Health Sciences:

Read more: